New member needs quick help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

duckvett

Assistant Cook
I will formally introduce myself at a later date, but I am somewhat a "smoking noob" and I need some quick advise. I have a Weber Smokey Mountain 18.5" that I have been using for about 6 months. I understand some of the basics, but am in no way an expert. I have been asked to provide pulled pork for a football tailgater this coming Saturday (two day from now). I bought a huge pork shoulder blade roast - 16.7 lbs. Should I cook this whole ( 1-1/2 hrs. per pound = 25 hours ) or would it be better to cut in half and cook both on the upper grate for a shorter time ( 12 hours )? :rolleyes:

Thank you for your help, oh wise ones.

I will formally introduce myself at a later date, but I am somewhat a "smoking noob" and I need some quick advise. I have a Weber Smokey Mountain 18.5" that I have been using for about 6 months. I understand some of the basics, but am in no way an expert. I have been asked to provide pulled pork for a football tailgater this coming Saturday (two day from now). I bought a huge pork shoulder blade roast - 16.7 lbs. Should I cook this whole ( 1-1/2 hrs. per pound = 25 hours ) or would it be better to cut in half and cook both on the upper grate for a shorter time ( 12 hours )? :rolleyes:

Thank you for your help, oh wise ones.
Chop it in half and save some fuel. Plus u will get more bark.
275 deg for about 10 hrs should do it. ;)

I would bet that it is already 2 pieces. Mostly that is the way these larger packages are, unless you bought it from a real butcher, and you actually got the whole shoulder, consisting of a pork butt, with part of the shoulder blade, and the picnic, which looks almost like a ham.

If you did in fact get a whole shoulder, do as was suggested, and separate it at the joint between the picnic and the butt.