New to smoking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jhawkz

Assistant Cook
I am new to smoking. I want to try smoking fish. Does anyone have a good recipes. I need your help.

Might want to try going to seafood on the board index.

Yep its pretty easy.
You can do it on a kettle.
The basic way I have done it is to just smoke it low like 250-275 for no more than a two hours.
I have done salmon mostly. I like apple wood but any fruit woods or alder is fine. I smoke mine till its kindof tough. I like that texture. Use what ever seasonings you like. I'll start skin side down then an hour in I'll peel the skin off and keep smoking for another hour. to be safe I hit it with my thermopen and make sure it comes up to at least 160 or 170. There are a million fancy ways to do it. Bringing, cold smoking, hot smoking etc. But keeping it simple works best for me. When it cools I vacuseal and throw em in the bottom of the fridge. I don't know how long it will keep. I eat it within a week.

Tri Tip said:
Yep its pretty easy.
The basic way I have done it is to just smoke it low like 250-275 for no more than a two hours.
I have done salmon mostly. I like apple wood but any fruit woods or alder is fine. I smoke mine till its kindof tough. I like that texture. Use what ever seasonings you like. I'll start skin side down then an hour in I'll peel the skin off and keep smoking for another hour. to be safe I hit it with my thermopen and make sure it comes up to at least 160 or 170. There are a million fancy ways to do it. Bringing, cold smoking, hot smoking etc. But keeping it simple works best for me. When it cools I vacuseal and throw em in the bottom of the fridge. I don't know how long it will keep. I eat it within a week.

That's a good temp if you like it dry. I usually pull mine off the smoker at 145*.

Nick Prochilo said:
[quote="Tri Tip":2kl03zcf]Yep its pretty easy.