What CAN I do with my grill/smoker?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JennaStorm

Assistant Cook
Hey guys, I'm a total noob so be patient please! My family never really grilled when I was growing up so this is a whole new world to me. My best friend is a grilling fanatic and kind of got me started. He just moved away so I bought my own Oklahoma Joe offset smoker.

I'm vegetarian as are three of my kids. The other two like meat. I've been doing a bit of online research to find out what I can do and I've been amazed at how many possibilities there are that I never even expected. I'm excited!

I can smoke cheese! Yay! I love the stuff and we eat a ton of cheese but I always thought it couldn't be done at home...figured the cheese would turn into a puddle. As a single mom, the smoked cheese is typically out of my budget so this is a huge deal for me!

On one forum, I saw people talking about smoking salt. Sounds awesome but it was something I'd never heard of before. Interested in trying some.

We've obviously done typical grill stuff (burgers, steaks, ribs, etc) and yesterday I started a pork butt that so far has taken 23 hours but I'm bound and determined to keep it low and slow and not to wrap it...the juices run every time I poke it so it's looking great. We've done veggie-kabobs, stuffed portabellas, and some simple things like that but what is out there that I don't know about?

My AC sucks so I never turn my oven on during the summer. I'm thinking there may be a way to use my new grill/smoker for far more than I realize. If I wrapped it tightly to limit the smoke, could we have lasagna again? Baked goods? lol

What are some things (both vegetarian and meat) I can do that might not be overly obvious to someone first diving into this fascinating world?