To Flip or Not...Ribs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cleglue

Head Chef
When I smoke ribs I slather (with mustard or worcestershire sauce) and sprinkle rub on them. I leave them bone side down (towards the coals) the entire time. I have read where some of you flip the ribs during the smoking process...Does this help and how?

Thanks.

I realize if you use a rib holder that this question isn't a concern.

I'm no expert. sometimes I do sometimes I don't. when I do I only do towards the very end of the cook to "sticky" them up a bit.

I flip sometimes.

I also take a close look at how the bones are doing when I do though.

It all depends.

Au contraire her mon chere' you have stumbled over a highly valuable nugget on truth here. Concave side always up whilst they cooking. One flip allowed on the glaze cycle. Let me guess. You from Texas right?

bigwheel

amdphreak said:
Hah, no I am not from Texas.... I would guess someone from there would know the answer?

I'm from where everyones GOOD spuds come from.... :P

You are from Prince Edward Island????

We aint got caves in Lousiana, No con-caves either. 8) I done em both ways I don't see no differnce.

I've tried flipping twice now. Once with BBs and once with spares.
I haven't tried them bone side up through the whole cook. A few hrs. for the rub/bark to set then flipped. One thing I noticed is they get done alot quicker. I don't think I would do this at a comp. (Sorry Uncle BigWheel ;) )

I always flip when it gets closer to finishing, sauce them, then flip then sauce and flip to keep them moist and evenly cooked. I do not think it matters, but this is how I do it.