Ssusage Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Gary in VA

Head Chef
Ok.. maybe not Exactly BBQ, but I have got the itch to make some sausage... I have never done this before and have no idea what I am doing, but it sounds interesting.

I am thinking of doing sausage links. I have access to a grinder/stuffer that I can borrow until I decide this is something I really want to do.

Any tips, tricks, recipes or especially recommended books on sausage making???

Thanks

Gary

Check out the Kutas book...keep your meat cold....double grind it course...and what kind of sausage are you going to make

Yeah, keep it cold -like nearly frozen. Whne the stuff starts to warm up, I put the whole shabang (including grinder) in the freezer for 10 to 20 minutes. Also, cut you meat into chunks that will fit in the grinder. Use all the FAT, in fact you might want to add some. Most meat from the supermarket has been trimmed too much. Good luck.

PS: We are in the process of moving so my cookbooks are packed. Should be able to give you the title of my favorite in a day or two.

Well I dont think a person needs a steeken book to make sausage. Especially books wrote by dumb yankees from New Yawk with funny names. It aint nutting but meatloaf stuffed in a gut and the gut really aint all that essential to the undertaking. There are several websites which will take you from the ground up and splains it all. Start with this link:

http://home.pacbell.net/lpoli/

Real friendly an helpful fella over there named Len Poli. He is the undisputed guru of internet sausage making as far as I can tell.

bigwheel

bigwheel said: