New to Low and slow

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kmw20715

Assistant Cook
Ok guys/gals.. Im new to Low and slow and had a go at it with my Char-Griller Duo... I kept a journal on the smoking so I cold go back and see how I can improve.. Im cut and paste it below.. Any suggestions would be great..

Ok after reading a week’s worth of blog post I decided to start Hot Rodding my “BEAST”. I extended the Smoke stack to the Grate first. Then I added the side fire box, and purchased a Veggie Griller to use as a Coal basket. I also lined the inside of the grill with foil, and flipped the stock coal tray upside down to use as a baffle… I ran some test runs but more of the time the smoke chamber was way too hot (300-400f). So I decided to do a test run with a slab of rims using the minion method. I’m typing this up as the ribs are smoking so I will post what I did and a reflection at the end...

10:20am: Pour about 15 hot coals in a basket with about a chimney full of unlit lump coal (Cowboy Brand), and placed a water dish inside the smoke chamber to control the heat.
10:45am: The Grill reads a temp of 110f with stock thermometer.
11:00am: The Grill reads a temp of 140f with stock thermometer.
11:15am: The Grill Reads a Temp of 160f with stock thermometer.
11:30am: the Grill reads a Temp of 210f and the grate temp was 190f with oven thermometer.
11:45am: 200f at grate and with stock thermometer.
12:00pm: 230f at grate and with stock thermometer. ***Put the Meat on….
12:15pm: Temps dropped to 210f on both thermometers.
12:45pm: Temp dropped to 190f on both thermometers. Decided to take out the water pan.
12:55pm Temp dropped down to 180f on both thermometer. Decided to add more lump coal...
1:10pm Temps up to 230 on grills thermometer and 210 on Grate... Sprayed the ribs with apple juice...