Making a better brisket

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Puff1

Chef Extraordinaire
I'm pretty new at this Dave, but one thing I know is fat cap up for sure, it keeps the meat moist while cooking.
Ice cubes :eek: , never heard that one before, sounds like a damn good idea :!:
I really can't offer you any good advice, so i'll just listen to what everybody else has to say.
Good luck at your'e comp. :!:

IMO for the majority of the cook you would want the fat side up so that the fat bastes the meat as it’s cooking. The only exception might be when you first put it on. In my limited experience the top of the meat gets the nicer smoke ring. You might want to experiment with putting it fat side down for the first hr or two then flip it. I plan on doing this with the next brisket I do. The handful of time’s I’ve done brisket I’ve done it with the fat side up and have good results with the tenderness. I’ve also been playing around with a broth based mop that you could make out of your frozen drippings. I’ve never competed but plan on doing so for the first time this year. My big concern is making the turn in time, again IMO I think that planning the Brisket to be done ahead of time and then resting it in a cooler is the way to go. I’m like you I don’t rest my meat as long as a lot of these guys. I did do a couple of Butts to take into work and pulled them from the smoker at 10:00 and then rested them in a cooler till 3:00 I was surprised how hot the butts were. I really didn’t notice much of a difference between resting the meat for my typical 45 min or the 4 hrs it ended up resting . But again that’s just MO. Hope this helps I sure you’ll get lots of advice. You just might have to practice a lot. And see what works for you and whatever your using to cook it on.

diverdave said: