Lump VS Briquette & Dry VS Soak

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JB2228

Assistant Cook
I am a true beginner in to the world of BBQ. I have owned numerous gas grills over the years, and have mastered the art of gas grilling. I recently received a WSM for a gift. I am wondering if anyone has any input on which type of charcoal works best. I bought a bag of kingsford briquettes, and a bag of royal oak lump. Does it really matter which charcoal is used? I know Matchlight is a no no, and lighter fluid is the devil. I have a chimney starter. My real question is their a difference between the way each one will work? Also I have seen people just use dry wood chunks for smoking, and some people soak the chunks, which is the right way to do it? So the short version of the above is:LUMP VS BRIQUETTE ? & DRY VS SOAK? ANY INFO OR OPINIONS WOULD BE WELCOME!!!
THANKS FOR SHARING
SINCERELY
THE ROOKIE 8)

Welcome to the world of bbq. And you start with the hottest topics of all I think. IMHO, kingsford briquets will do you a fine job. They work me anyway. No soak, but use chunks and chips and you will have good eats. Most of all, have fun experimenting, and DONT make it complicated!!

I myself am a lump head. (just ask any one here :LOL: ) As with any pit, cooker, you need to get to know your unit. It just takes time to know what is right for you. There is no right from wrong. It's what works right for you. everyone is diffrent. Make notes, (sounds goofy I know) If you make a killer pork butt, and don't remember what the hell ya did, your lost. Just the abent temp will have a affect on your finished cook. Take your time and have fun. TRUE: it's not the cooker. Just the cook! :D Good Luck on your quest!

Pigs

swampsauce said: