Let's do a brisket

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Captain Morgan

Chef Extraordinaire
As most of you know, I'm a brisket rookie. I've only done 3 or 4, and
never got a product that made me want to do another one. But everyone
raves about em, and we've got a cool weekend, so I'm gonna give it another try.

So lets start...walk me through this step by step over the weekend.

I've got a 7 pound flat with some pretty good looking marbling.
Should I trim the fat cap to a quarter inch? Rub with what? Or marinade?
What wood should I use?

Lets just start with the prep...don't know if I'm gonna put it on tonight or tomorrow.

I've only done 2 myself, i'm sure the pro's will help you on this one.
The first one was good, the second dry as shoe leather :eek:

Good luck though :!:

Cappy, I am probably going to get a lot of ribbing from this response but your worth it.

First of all, I like to leave about 1/8 in fat on. I take off anything more than that.

For the rub, I like the tex/mex combo's. I coat it well and realy rub it into the cracks and crevisis the night before and wrap in plastic wrap and into the fridge.

I use an offset so I start with one chimney of coals and then oak and hickory and cook at 225*.

I usually take the brisket out before I start the smoker to let it come twords the room temp side.

When the smoker is ready, I put a shallow aluminum foil tray under the brisket to catch the juices. That is what I baste with. Fat side up and smoke to 165*. Then I put a sauce (if you want the sauce recipie then drop me a PM) on it and foil (YES I SAID FOIL!) Back on the smoker and bring it up to 195* then let it rest in a small cooler. The temp will continue to rise 5-10*. Then slice and serve.

ok, daughters coming over so I'll rub tonight and cook tomorrow.
I haven't tried this in 3 years, maybe I'm a better q'er now.