Jerk Tenderloin

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Captain Morgan

Chef Extraordinaire
I'm no expert here, but what kind of tenderloin is it? Most loins don't have a lot of fat, and a low and slow smoke may not be necessary. I'm thinking grill em with wood chips giving heavy smoke.

Sled, try a handfull of allspice berries in a foil pouch.(buy 'em at Latino or Caribbean markets for next to nothing). The stuff in a jar will bankrupt you.

I'd indirect grill at med to med high heat. They will be done quicker than you think so don't over cook. Pull just after they
pass 145*. Because they are so thin there won't be a whole lot of carry over so I stick them on a 180* oven for 10 min. to finish.

Rob

I agree with Capt. Low and slow isn't really gonna help ya on tenderloins. Hot and fast, they won't take long (around 20 min./lb.). Give them the quarter turn so they get grilled on all sides. Will the weight/rub ratio be affected? Depends, most jerk is pretty strong stuff, if it's the first time you're havin' it maybe it'll be o.k. that you have less rub. Keep in mind you have 50% more meat than the rub calls for. you'll know when you taste 'em if you need more rub next time. I prefer a little pink and moisture in my pork tenderloin, so i'd only take them to 140* tops, then foil tent for 5 min. or so. That should give you another 5-10* in them. As far as smoke goes, maybe try them straight up since it's the first time having the jerk, then you'll know what it tastes like without any other influence. If you want to use the smoke, a mild wood might be nice to enhance the rest of the flavors you have there.

Just my $.02, hope it goes well for ya

Rob

YardBurner said:
Sled, try a handfull of allspice berries in a foil pouch.(buy 'em at Latino or Caribbean markets for next to nothing). The stuff in a jar will bankrupt you.