Is this a good deal...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
erik13 said:
or a piece of junk?
I have never used a smoker before... :oops:

http://www.grillshowroom.com/double-gri ... moker.htm#

Erik, I don't think that's a great price... and it's not a great cooker. If you can spend the cash for a WSM get it. If not, save until you can. While it may cost 3x the price you posted... it's 10x the cooker. You can make the Brinkman cook good, but it takes a lot of mods and still a lot of work while cooking.

If you make your own sauce hurry up and enter the sauce contest to win a Primo... Otherwise, save your money for the WSM.

Seriously guys- I'm new at this stuff.
I just spent $300 on a gas grill a couple months ago. What can this thing do that my grill cant?

erik13 said:
I just spent $300 on a gas grill a couple months ago. What can this thing do that my grill cant?

Smoke. Take a look at some of the posts here and see what people have smoked.

erik13 said:

Erik, it will allow you to use charcoal to either grill steaks at high temp without a gas taste or slow cook meat. If you've never had a pork that has been slow cooked over charcoal or wood you're missing one of the great pleasures of life. If you can afford it, upgrade to the Webber. :D

erik,

Get the WSM. I bought a brinkman years ago and never learned to make it work. You can't regulate the temperature because the bottom is wide open to the air. There are no vents to control air flow. We all love the WSM...trust us on this one!

Edit...Here it is in action.

Slow smoked butts.

Slow smoked ribs.

I will echo exactly what everyone else here has said.; Get the WSM!!!

i just bought my second and if I could get away with it I would buy two more.

They are awesome. And I find they only get bette rwith age. As the gunk builds up the WSM runs tighter and even more smooth.

It is awesome.

Truly.

Get One.