Got a new grill and trying to do some ribs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

klturi421

Assistant Cook
I got this grill for christmas and still learning the ins and outs of it. I am looking to do some ribs on Sunday but wanted a few suggestions as to what and or how I should do some ribs. I am looking to do about 3 racks, possibly going to get some Baby Backs or St Louis Spares.

I'd like to use the grill for all three racks but I am nervous about how they are going to turn out. One suggestion a friend of mine said was to start them off in the oven and then finish on the grill. Or the opposite as well. Since I am new to this and trying to figure out what to do, do you guys have any pointers for me?

Attachments

• photo.jpg
    photo.jpg
    56.4 KB · Views: 284
Welcome to The Forum klturi421. I'm thinking your new grill can do anything your oven can do. I'm not good enough to know what your grill is but I would think if you could get it to run indirect someplace around 250° - 300° for 3 or 4 hours you should be able to do fine.

Cook a butt or two. Fire on one end..meat on the other. That aint a rib cooking set up. Now if you just gotta do it...cut the ribs into invidual bones in a big stew pot..boil till tender and lete them soak. When somebody wants to eat some ribs throw how many needed onto the hot grill and douse with liquid smoke. BBQ joint up in the Wilbarger County did em like that cept they used a flat grill and no outdoor fire. You could not find a place to park because of all the yankee truck drivers eating ribs. They were purty danged good..lol. The owners wife looked sorta like Nick and she always wear a low cut thing and lean over to give a nice a view when wiping down tables etc. That maybe brought some of them in. Rumor was she got real friendly in the back room with any real big tippers. Not total sure on that one.