aged brisket

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bbqbrad

Cook
OK. So from what I've heard a brisket should have aged about 40-45 days after the packed date.

Is aging just letting it sit in a cold fridge for that amount of time? Will it spoil?

thanks in advance!

Well there is dry aging and wet aging; wet aging is allowing the meat to sit in it's original cryovac package in the refrig.

Dry aging is having the meat outside it's packaging ans sitting in a refrigerator at a certain temp and humidity for a longer period of time.

I'm not an expert on either and have just a basic knowledge of the process; if you google the terms there is plenty of information on the subject on the web.

Hey Brad,

Wet aging is recomended. 45 days from the kill date.

It has to be kept in the original cryovac and be sure the vaccuum stays in tact. If the vaccuum breaks cook or freeze the cowpie immediatly.

You'll know as soon as you open it if it's spoiled.

Good Q!

Jack

I was told dry aging ONLY takes place when the carcass is hanging whole. Actually a half carcass. Also like Bruce said with the right temp and humidity.