Newbie babyback question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
G

I have been grilling for a few years, but just starting to mess around with ribs. I have an inexpensive 4 burner charbroil grill.
Can anyone give me some tips to keep the ribs from drying out?
Tonight I cooked indirect at just under 300 for about 3 hours with some hickory chips in a smoker box. I constantly basted with apple juice, but they still were dry.
Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks.

Lower the temp. Try to get to around 220. Wrap in foil after 3 hours and cook for an hour or so more. Finish glazed unwrapped until they are done. Eat and enjoy.

wboggs said:
From a guy who regularly does ribs on a grill:

First of all, prepare your ribs however you normally do for the smoker. Fire up only one burner on your grill. Put the ribs in a rib rack on the opposite side of the grill and close the lid. Every grill will heat to a different temp so use either a remote temp gauge or an oven thermometer to gauge the temp you are cooking at then you will be able to gauge how long to cook them. For smoker flavor, add some wood chips pursuant to the instructions that came with your grill.

The grill I used got pretty hot (close to 300 degrees) so I cooked the ribs for 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Then I wrapped the ribs in foil for another 1 1/2 hours then unwrapped and cooked for about another 45 minutes. I brushed the ribs with sauce a couple times in the last 20 minutes.

They came out every bit as good as they do on the smoker.

I hope this helps.
Thanks. Does the rib rack make any difference over laying them flat on the grill?

Smokey_Joe said:
I'd recommend a Maverick ET-73... you just missed a heck of a sale...but even at full price, they are well worth the money!

Finney...your ball!

Actually it's the Wolfe Rub sale that's over! The Maverick Sale continues!!

Burnt Food Dude said: