Grilling meats... how and where to choose?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Smokin1

Assistant Cook
Good morning all... I am somewhat new to grilling with charcoal... is there any difference in where you purchase your meat from? Such as Walmart vs. Win Dixie vs. A butcher vs. A company like Omaha Steaks? Just curious because I have a Walmart, Win Dixie, and a local meat market(butcher) in my town... the reason I am asking is because I plan on using my grill quite often and i plan on cooking once a week to make enough for my work week which are 12 hour shifts with a 60 hour week the first week and a 24 hour week the next and then com for family on my days off... also, what are the leanest cuts as I am big into weightlifting and looking for Max protein with the least amount of fat, saturated fat, etc... I know that marbling is the more marbling, the more tender the meat will be. Thanks for any insight guys!

VERY GOOD QUESTION! Where you buy your meat does not matter. However, what is in your meat does. 'Most' places beef is almost always safe to grill and is all natural. BUT, the one place I saw enhance beef once was indeed WalMart. In my opinion, if you're 'grilling' beef, go for choice vs. select. If you are smoking/BBQ'ing, then it doesn't matter. Again this is my opinion, I've had equal or better Select Briskets I have purchase from WalMart than I have from more expensive choice briskets.

Pork, you really need to read the labels on pork. Self Basting, Naturally Juicy and Solition Added are usually bad signs and your pork will taste spongy and salty whether you grill or BBQ. With this said, read the amount of sodium in the cuts. Recently I have had good luck with Smithfield 'Self Basting' Ribs, but the sodium content was only 170mg and they came out like fresh ribs.

Chicken is the same way as pork.