grilled corn on cob advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Griff

Master Chef
I'm going to do a tri-tip this evening on the kettle and wanted to grill some corn on the cob. I've never done this before and any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

I usually just nuke the ears husk and all. I have peeled the husk back and removed the silk, then fold the husk back around the corn and grill after a good soaking. A lot of people just soak and grill the whole ear. Its all good. :D

Smear with butter, s&p, wrap in foil, cook for 20 minutes. Right before grilling roll them over the hot grill to get a little char.

Finney said:
Larry Wolfe said:
Smear with butter, s&p, wrap in foil, cook for 20 minutes. Right before grilling roll them over the hot grill to get a little char.
FOIL?!?!?!?
8-[ Yes................. :) The butter really penetrates the kernels like that. :nerd:

Desilk the ears, soak in water, pull the husks back, wrap the corn in bacon like a candy cane, pull the husks back up and cook indirect for about an hour...The bacon gives the corn a nice flavor.

I never soak--they don't really absorb much water, if any. I remove the husk till the last single leaves covering the kernals and don't bother de-silking. Grill, direct or indirect or a combo of both, depending on the heat and how high I've banked coals. The remaining husk leaves add some protection to the kernels at the beginiing of cooking but dry and shrink allowing the exposed kernels to caramelize a bit. The silk, because it dries completely, is easily removed with a simple tug. Serve with chipotle mayo and lime.

K Kruger said: