First photo set

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

whmaine

Cook
Fourth grill in about 2 weeks... first one since I actually registered. If I get this right, there will be pictures.

Okay, so I'm not a picture pro yet, but here's an album link, and they were taken with an ipod, so don't expect too much.

Those of you who saw my new member post, this is the tiny grill, and here are my results! One pack of hot dogs, and three chicken breasts after a couple of hours in the marinade. I think I've got trouble based on the distance between the coals and the grate, because any decent number of coals pretty much takes most of the gap away. Probably a good idea to tighten up the vents and go longer and/or more indirect, I just need to find the balance where I don't get chem flavors in my meat from cheap charcoal.

Thanks, gang.

Thanks for the pics! Welcome to the world of cooking over fire, it's awesome. Yes, that is a tiny grill. You have the right idea by placing the coals on one side, however you have too many for your grill. Reduce by 1/3 at least. Also kind of a lot of meat on all at the same time which reduces your flexibility. If you were doing just the chicken breasts for example, start them over the hot side over the coals to get a nice sear and grill marks for about 8 min or so depending on grill temp. Move them to the not as hot side to finish cooking. Amount of time on the not as hot side will vary depending on size of breasts. The dogs could go the most of the time on the not so hot side then a quick bit on the hot side for grill marks. This is called the reverse sear method.