Charbroil CB940x v. Bar-B-Chef Texas Grill

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LowRent

Senior Cook
I've been grilling for 15+ years, but I'm new to BBQ forums & BBQ-4-U in particular. Happy to be here, and I can't wait to see your thoughts.

I am going to buy a new charcoal grill. I currently have a Weber Silver Touch. Right now I’m considering the Charbroil CB940x & the Bar-B-Chef Texas Grill. The price is $429 & $449 respectively.

At this time I prefer the Texas Grill due to these factors:
- larger grilling surface (588 sq in vs 533 sq in)
- "almost" full-width access to charcoal basket (the CB940x has a much small door)
- I prefer the Texas Grill’s charcoal basket lift mechanism
- cart beneath grill has one side covered (better for charcoal storage, etc., IMO)

Advantages for CB940x
- slightly less expensive (possibly a lot less expensive)
- proven track record
- cutting block wing surfaces
- appears to be available at Columbus, GA Charbroil Outlet for much cheaper

The referred to Outlet has a model the salesman called the “Sierra.â€

Two extremely important features on grills are an adjustable meat rack and easy access for fuel replenishment. The Texas grill being a front loader has both those features. Does the Charbroil? The Texas grill also has the advantage on grilling space which is very mportant. You want to have a hot zone, medium zone, and a low heat or no heat zone while your grilling.