No covers?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JimSpy

Assistant Cook
Hello, I'm pretty new to BBQ, hope I've come to the right place. (Is there a separate forum for neophytes?) I own a Charmglow Gourmet Series 810-8750, and for years I've been struggling with it because it doesn't have hoods or covers, and the burners seem to burn unevenly. So today I'm surfing, looking for something I can use as a cover, when come to find out, "Those are features, not bugs"...? :confused: Apparently you Ph.Ds in Barbecuery don't use covers when grilling? And the uneven burning is due to the burners being "U"-shaped, and it's useful for cooking different things at different temps? Just checking to see if I have this right.

If all this is true, is there a guidebook out there for grilling in this "unique" environment? I have a couple of "grilling bibles" but they don't seem to mention either of these "oddities." Any help appreciated.

Boy are you misinformed, I always use a cover, without it you can not regulate your temperatures.

Well. they're apparently saying that that's what the U-shaped burner is for.

And yes, I'm misinformed. That's why I'm here.

Sorry, as for your grill I have no input on that, I have never heard of a u-shaped burner. As you can see I have all Webers for grills. I dont understand why they would not have a cover for it.

The reference I have always heard, particularly with gas grills, is that grilling without the lid down is like baking in the oven with the door open. Grilling with wood, briquets, etc. the fire can be built large and hot enough to cook without a lid.