Info for starting a Charity Competition in Michigan

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brewjester

Assistant Cook
Hi guys,
My name is Jeremy and I'm pretty new to competition BBQ and the like. Just got my first WSM smoker last October. The past 2 years my dad has ran a Praise concert bringing in several local Christian artists and 1 head-liner. We were talking about raising money for Simpson Park, where it's held.

My idea was to have a BBQ competition and let the participants vend their food and split some of the money with the park. There would also be a People Choice champion possibly too, among the vendors. I'm looking for help and information about how to hold and run a comp, how to advertise, and how to recruit competitors. It's open competition to anyone who wants to enter. My goal is to do this every year at the Romeo Peach Festival Labor Day weekend.

Any information or support would be greatly appreciated.
Please email me at welovedante@comcast.net if interested or can offer any help.

Thanks so much again for any help. Take care and God bless.

Jeremy Sherman

Somebody needs to scheck this young man out if he aint a huckster steer him over to IBCA Lynn or LSBS. I would do it but I aint sure where I put my email gizmo. Thanks.

This gentleman also sent a message to our Association's website asking the same question. The festival he speaks of is real and I'm sure he is looking for some real help. We referred him to our events committee and he is talking to them.

Not everyone is a huckster and out looking to make a buck off of this forum.

Ok well if your sure he's Ok I can tell him how to do it without having to bother them busy folks. Put mo money into the po box etc. Let me know.