Spareribs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LarryWolfe

Chef Extraordinaire
Iowacane said:
My wife got a great deal on Pork Spareribs at the store, and I just realized that I have never done them on the ECB before. Anyway, any advice would be great. One more thing: Has anybody tried Mesquite for Spareribs ? Someone gave me about 10 pounds of Mesquite chips. I have never cooked with them before. I have always used Hickory.
Thanks.

Don't know if you've already made mod's to the ECB or not. If you haven't, I'd like to suggest to quick mods that will make your cooks painless. First drill about ten, half inch hole in the charcoal pan for better air flow and so the ash from the coals can fall out to keep your fire from dying. Then just get a good thermometer, don't go by the one that's on it. I know you didn't ask for modification help but I thought I'd offer since this cook will take about 6 hours for you, and I too started on an ECB.

You should try the Minion Method and then I'd suggest the "3-2-1" method. This process starts off w/the ribs on the smoker for 3 hours. After three hours you foil the ribs, at this time you can add a little apple juice (optional) and let cook in the foil for up to 2 hours (I only foil for about 1 hour). This will braise the ribs and break down the collagen and produce a very tender moist rib. For the last hour on the cooker you unfoil the ribs and at this time you can baste your ribs if you want to serve them wet. This will also help firm the ribs up a bit and keep them from falling apart. Hope this helps.

Mesquite wood is stronger than hickory, so if you decide to use it be careful on the amount.

Larry gives good advice Iowa...I have put mesquite on everything and it is good stuff...just don't over do it! :!:

Iowacane said: