Reheating Pork

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dry Rubber

Assistant Cook
My wife and I are providing some pulled pork for our friends' couples baby shower (30 people). Here is the catch, the shower is on Saturday at 11 and I work a solid 60 hours Monday-Friday. I am new to the BBQ game and am not comfortable letting something smoke overnight without keeping an eye on the temp. If I smoke the butts the Sunday prior to the event, what is the best way to reheat the meat the day of? Usually I just nuke a plate of leftovers for myself, but it seems to steam out a some of the flavor and I really want to hit one out of the park here. Any suggestions? Is a week in the fridge pushing my luck?

Thanks!

I think a week in the fridge is pushing it if you're wanting others to eat it. I suggest once you have it pulled, put it in the freezer. That'll stop all the bad magumbo from growing on it. Pull it out of the freezer Thursday morning and place in the fridge. Saturday morning, put it in the oven at 250* at about 7:30 AM to reheat. Your goal is to get the temp back up above 160* (for at least a few minutes). If you're concerned with it drying out, put some apple juice or pork broth in the pan to keep it moist.

Hope you knock it out of the park!

Vacum seal 2-3 lb packages and freeze. reheat by either :
1st and best way: simmer the FS bags unopened in a pot of water for 20-30 min.

2nd and not as good but will work way : Thaw the bags in water and nuke the unopened bags for 2 min at a time until the meat is hot. Kneed after each 2min round. This will take approximatley 2-3 min per lb depending on power of microwave.