question about brisket cookery

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TouchOfSmoke

Assistant Cook
I am a chef by trade and absolutely love cooking bbq! I am very interested in taking my passion to the next level, and entering some competitions. I understand that there are many rules and expectations set forth by judges, so i fully intend on taking a class before engaging. I have been doing allot of reading on the subject and ran across a bit of information I have a question about. I have read that allot of people will smoke a brisket for 8-10 hours, and then wrap it in foil before completing the next 8-12 hours of the smoking process, especially when using a wood as pungent as mesquite. I did this last night and my brisket came out beautifully smoked, ring and all, but was also extremely tender. I understand that this tenderness was brought about by the brisket essentially braising in its own fat and juices inside of the tin pouch. I loved the quality. I read in a blog online that if your brisket was almost falling apart that you probably braised it and the judges would detect this and you wouldn't be scored well. My question is this; Is wrapping the brisket in foil for the last 12 + hours of the smoking process, rendering an extremely tender, fall apart product, acceptable?