newbie with a few smoking question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheCook

Senior Cook
Hi,

Im a smoking newbie and I have a few questions. I have an offset type smoker that was given to me similar to the one here: http://homebbq.com/library/SmokerModifications.pdf

1. How would you rate this type of smoker compared to other types available.

2. The modifications described in the link above....has anyone tried these? What were your results? Is it worth doing?

3. Do you build a fire like described in the article?

4. The article suggests only using lump wood charcoal. Is that the consenus here, or do you use some type of wood as well? (chips, chunks, etc?)

5. If you do use wood in addition to charcoal, what type of wood? and how and when do you apply it to the charcoal?

I'm sure I'll have more questions later. Thanks in advance.

Welcome

1. It is about the same as other offsets in its price range

2. I did mods like some of the ones above and it does help. I would say it is worth doing

3.No I just bunt logs about 6-8in long but the way taked about above will work

4.Lump is fine if you can get it. I will cost you more than kingsford. Id use kingsford but that is just me.

5.I like apple and peach with a mix of oak. I just use wood so I cant help you there. I hear chips are to small so I would use chunks.

Chris

questions continued...

I've got a couple more questions.

1. I've read a few of the threads on here and people mention "foiling" the brisket at some point during the cooking process. Can someone elaborate on that?

2. What is a good seasoning/maridate, etc for brisket? Im sure there are a ton of options, but I'll take personal favorites to get me started. What about marinated for chicken?

3. What is the rule for smoking whole chickens? Any time/lb. guidlines?

Thanks in advance.

Re: questions continued...

Love2<º>< said: