Maverick ET-73 vs. Nu-Temp

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Greg Rempe

Web Celeb
Moderator Emeritus
This is to help out our new member Cortez. He wants the info on both and any suggestions you have regarding one or the other.

I have the ET-73 and I like it. It did take 2 units before I got one that worked to the advertised description however. There was a bad batch of Rx and Tx but I think that has all be cleared up by now. At least I haven't heard of any recent hang-up's from anyone.

The Maverick is a dual probe system and you can monitor the meat temp and the smoker temp at the same time. Also, it has a high/low pit temp alarm and a hi meat temp alarm. Also includes a count up/down timer.

I like it, it helped me stay clam on overnight cooks when I was a newbie! Now, I use it more for the meat temp than the pit temp.

I'll let someone else talk about the Nu-Temp. By the way, the Maverick is $45-$50 depending on where you get it for the complete system...also, there customer service is very good!!

I concur with everything Greg has stated about the ET-73! It's a wonderful product and I do not have a clue I did before I owned one!

I've owned both. Never had any problems with either one. I do like the new temp because you can add 3 transmitters to it. My nephew just strated bbqing and I gave him my maverick. I think they are both good and reliable products.

do i need to get two mavericks one for the top rack and one for the bottom rack.to check the temp on the meats..

cortez said:
do i need to get two mavericks one for the top rack and one for the bottom rack.to check the temp on the meats..

Cortez,