Lump Charcoal Making

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bigwheel

Master Chef
Go to Google and plug in this phrase "Dan Gill Charcoal"..leave out the quotation marks. I think you will get a get a few hits which might prove helpful.

bigwheel

timroy said:
I have been making lump charcoal for the past 6 months. So far I have learned how to piss off my neighbors, melt my buried internet cable and create a back-draft large enough to remove most of my upper body hair.

Now thats funny, I don care where your from, that ther's funny......

When you do the 3 hour burn , how much air is allowed in ? If there's something that takes more effort than its worth, sounds like a project for me and a case of beer..

There was a pictorial somewhere on the web I seen once on making your own lump and it seemed rather labor intensive for the amount of lump that this guy got for one load, however, your mileage may vary.

$7 for 20lbs works just fine for me. I mean I realize it's not authentic lump charcoal but..... :LOL: :LOL:

Not to let any type of proverbial cat out of the bag, but the guys over at the BBQ Guru are devising a lump charcoal maker as we speak. Shotgun Fred has been working on it daily...

I have no idea what the cost would be...but you know it is going to be good when they bring it to market! ;)

(Greg refuses to kiss advertiser ass...just stating the facts!) :shock:

Bruce B said:
There was a pictorial somewhere on the web I seen once on making your own lump and it seemed rather labor intensive for the amount of lump that this guy got for one load, however, your mileage may vary.

$7 for 20lbs works just fine for me. I mean I realize it's not authentic lump charcoal but..... :LOL: :LOL:

Here's the pictorial. http://www.nakedwhiz.com/makinglump.htm

Cowboy and BGE here are $20/20lb bag. Laz? at safeway $8/20#bag. Add the 8.16% sales tax.

brian j said:
timroy said: