Kingsford

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Bring Back The OLD Kingsford

I DO NOT like the new kingsford. It burns too quick and produces too much ash. My local smoke store talked about lump charcoal instead. I have never used it before but I am interested. Few things I know is that it burns hotter. Would you set up your WSM the same when using lump when compared to the kingsford? For longer smokes would you still fill up the entire chamber and use the Minion Method?? Thanks for the info.

Re: Bring Back The OLD Kingsford

Man's Best Friend BBQ said:
I DO NOT like the new kingsford. It burns too quick and produces too much ash. My local smoke store talked about lump charcoal instead. I have never used it before but I am interested. Few things I know is that it burns hotter. Would you set up your WSM the same when using lump when compared to the kingsford? For longer smokes would you still fill up the entire chamber and use the Minion Method?? Thanks for the info.

As far as burning hotter, it will only do so if you let it. Control your air and you will have no trouble controling the heat.

ScottyDaQ said:
I'm seeing more availability of the Kingsford w/ Mesquite.

I haven't tried it yet. .... For grilling ... maybe?
I've tried it.
There is a slight hint of Mesquite, not as strong as plain Mesquite wood.
It's not bad, I used it for grilling.

BLAH BLAH BLAH, I keep hearing people say they don't like this or that about the new Kingsford. Had they not put a new package around the newly shaped briquettes nobody would be able to tell a difference! I can not tell one bit of difference in burn time, heat, ash or taste with the new vs. old. Both the new and the old produce too much ash, but who cares, it's good for the garden! That's my .02.

Larry Wolfe said: