How to maximize the rib count in my WSM??? - BBQ Central

Go Back   BBQ Central > General > General Barbecue
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2007, 09:16 AM   #1
Cooker
 
WildFireEric's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 292
How to maximize the rib count in my WSM???

Hey, a question to all of you on how to do this. I have two not-so-shiny-anymore WSMs (by the way, thanks Bill for your assembly work. It hasn't fallen apart yet).

I have 2 rib racks that hold 4 racks of ribs (4 slots). so the ribs are vertical. So one for each of the top WSM racks. That's 8 racks of ribs. However, it's too tall for my lower WSM rack, so I assume I'd have to lay my ribs there on the sides and flip occasionally. Is this correct or is there anything I'm missing. So, I can only make a few racks of ribs on the lower WSM rack, right? So unless I want to do a lot of drinking...err. bbqing, I'm only gonna get maybe (let's do the math.. 4+4=8 for the top and 2?+2 on the bottom= 8 for the party and 4 for me personally) not to mention no room for any fatties.

Is this the basic excuse I need to get a bigger rig or something??? I'm not trying to feed 40 people yet or anything, but I do have a Xmas party I'm going to and I'm assuming 8 racks of ribs would go pretty fast with a bunch of youth football coaches. They'll eat anything, especially if free. Thanks...
__________________

__________________
Eric aka The Pig
WildFireEric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 10:54 AM   #2
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Larry Wolfe's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bealeton, Virginia
Posts: 14,969
Eric, you can easily do 8 racks of spares on the WSM, you just need to cut them in half. You can actually do 10 racks of spares, by stacking the last two on top of the vertical ribs. Here's some pics of a cook I did cooking 4 racks of spares trimmed St. Louis style with the trimmings on the bottom.

__________________

__________________
Larry Wolfe
Visit the Wolfe Pit
Wolfe Rub Recipes
Larry Wolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 11:43 AM   #3
Cooker


 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coventry, Ct.
Posts: 230
you could do 8 racks without even cutting them in half if you spindle them and stand them on edge...4 racks for each rack....if you laid one on top of that, you may be able to get 5, but the one on the top rack would cook a lot quicker...

Rob
__________________
If you're not using Gibson and Marshall, you're a wanker! - Ian St. Ian
Rob D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.