How many BTU's Should I have - BBQ Central

Go Back   BBQ Central > General > General Barbecue
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2011, 10:44 PM   #1
BBQ NOOB
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
How many BTU's Should I have

Hello,
I am buying a new barbaque to finish up my back yard, I am considering a weber but I am not sure
how many BTU's I should get, I thought the recommended amount was about 200 BTU's per square inch of
surface, but I read here http://www.helpandinformation.com/artic ... grill.html that I only need around 100, would this be enough or should I go for the "man" overkill?
__________________

relativehelp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 09:46 AM   #2
Baby Back


 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 96
Re: How many BTU's Should I have

I would get one that get so hot it be skerry. Ruth Crisp Steakhouse claim to cook at 1500 F. That should work.

bigwhel
__________________

Goober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 10:46 AM   #3
Wizard of Que
 
Smokey Lew's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern California - Riverside
Posts: 1,502
Re: How many BTU's Should I have

If it were me, I wouldn't go the gas grill rout. I have a very expensive 5 burner grill sitting at the side of my house covered with a tarp. The damn thing melted the back out of a burner and almost caught the house on fire.

After that incident, I went with a charcoal grill and learned how good BBQ can rally taste with some practice. Now I have a Weber Performer, a Chaney split drum grill, a 22" Weber Smokey Mountain and a family that looks forward to dinner every night. That gas burner almost blowing up was the best thing that happened.
__________________
Smokey Lew
Riverside, California
WSM 22.5"
Weber Performer, black

http://chaneysgrills.com/index.html
Smokey Lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:47 PM   #4
Moderator
 
Nick Prochilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 16,367
Re: How many BTU's Should I have

"F" the BTU's. How many burners will you need? The manufacturers have the BTU part figured out. It's also better to go bigger then smaller, you can always just light the burners you will need for a particular cook. Is this your first grill? Gas works fine if you don't buy a cheap unit. I have both gas and charcoal and use both with no problems with either.
__________________
I hope this isn't negative!
Nick Prochilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 07:43 PM   #5
Saint O'Que
 
Tri Tip's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Costa Mesa CA
Posts: 1,251
Re: How many BTU's Should I have

What's a BTU???
Tri Tip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.