Help with trimming to St. Louis style

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I watched vids on youtube on how to do it and those guys make it looks easy. Guess it would help if I had a really sharp knife. I have never done this before, they look kinda small to me. How do you know where to cut? Is the really white lookin thing the bone or cartlidge?

Their is a good video on the weber virtual website.You just put ribs bone side down and feel for where the bone ends on the big end of the slab,cut straight across at the end of the bone.

0341SteelRain said:
I watched vids on youtube on how to do it and those guys make it looks easy. Guess it would help if I had a really sharp knife. I have never done this before, they look kinda small to me. How do you know where to cut? Is the really white lookin thing the bone or cartlidge?

You are looking to form a rectangle. Find the longest bone and cut lengthwise from that bone. It looks like you are cutting through bone, but the flap on top is held to the ribs by what looks like cartilage to me. Then trim the tips and you got St. Louis style. It's easier to cut through that stuff than you might imagine. You'll only need to do it once to figure it out.