Help getting more heat out of lump charcoal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

robgilbert

Assistant Cook
Hey everyone, I hope I am not re-posting, I have very bad skills when it comes to narrowing things down in the vastness of online forums! At any rate, I am new to charcoal grilling, I bought a 22" Weber Kettle, and started with Kingsford Original briquettes. I recently switched to Cowboy Lump Charcoal, I have been having a great deal of trouble maintaining the level of heat I was used to previously with the briquettes. I am also using a Weber chimney starter which I usually fill as tightly as I can, and usually overfill it. It's just become quite embarrassing, I previously had set times I would cook things for and they'd come out perfectly, now with the lump I am having to keep things on longer and longer. Any help would be super appreciated!! :oops:

Oh, :cry: I should probably add that I'm a bit confused, I had read a lot online that lump burns considerably hotter than briquettes... just dang confused!!

If you're using a Weber Kettle, you really don't need to go with the lump charcoal. I use Stubb's briquets in my 22.5 Weber Performer and add just a few pieces of mesquite lump for added flavor. Occasionally, I will add a small piece of fruit wood like apple or cherry to give some smoke flavor to fish, ribs or chicken.

Set your kettle up with one side for the briquets and the other side for indirect cooking. Always keep the top vent on the lid full open and if things start getting to hot, you can damp down the bottom vent. The key to controlling the fire is not to get to much going at the start. Never use more than a half full chimney to start your fire. I don't even use a chimney on my Weber Performer. I just start a couple of small areas of coals going (maybe three briquets in each area) with a propane torch.