Good price?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

surfinsapo

Master Chef
Yeah buy them... Cook them the same and look for the one without the meat cut out from between them.. They are done when the grease stops dripping and the tear apart easy... JB is the Fred Flinstone Rib guy around here. He has many videos of cooking those too.....

http://www.youtube.com/user/007bondjb

Let us know how they come out...

Tour de Que said:
I remember on another topic, someone wrote about the different types of beef ribs. I can't remember the link.

Well, at Albertson's this week, they are advertising "Beef Back Ribs" for $0.88/lb. Is this a good price? What should I look for? Do you cook beef ribs any different than pork ribs?

I've never done beef ribs before and am thinking about giving it a try this weekend.

Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

PLA

That's a good price if they're meaty. You want to look for meaty ribs and not all bone showing. In most cases, they will be overly trimmed at what are called "Shiners". They'll have enough meat to eat, but would be nice if they had more.

Splash with worcestershire sauce, then rub with your favorite rub if you have one, if not salt, pepper and garlic powder work great.

I like to cook them using a 3-2-1 method, commonly used for pork spare ribs as well. 3 hours in the smoke, 2 hours in foil, then another hour to firm up and sauce. Make sure you remove the membrane too.

Hope this helps!

What Larry said but no horsyshire (unless ya like it) foil aint needed for beef ribs due to the area of the cut, I like to use Wolfe rub & no sauce at the end. serve sauce on the side. You don't have to cook em to death either. they can be eaten rare or med rare but they will have lots of grease still in em. Cook to med & thats it, pull em & keep warm till eatin time

007bond-jb said: