chuck and fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chris1237

Sous Chef
I was thinking of doing a chuck roast along with fish this weekend do you guys have any advice on how either. I have never done them before.

thanks,
Chris

Nick i was planing to smoke the fish. Maybe salmon, catfish, cod, flonder or what ever they have.

Chris

Chris. Deputnrc gave me a little recipe to use with Salmon.
Coat with a 50/50 mixture of honey&pure maple syrup, sprinkle with any kind of rub (I used Wolfe Rub), and smoke at 225 till it flakes off with a fork.
I'm not a big fish fan. But I made it for the wife & she loved it :!:

Chris pick a fatty fish.......salmon, bluefish, mackeral, etc. Then find a simple brined to throw them into.

The chuck, I find the big roasts are best vs. chuck roll. Look for one in the 8-10 range, rub with your favorite rub and cook in the smoke until your internal temps reach between 160-165*. Then wrap in foil and continue to cook to the 200-205* internal temp range. Then let them rest in a cooler for at least a couple hours, 3-4 is even better. This to me in a critical part in getting a good tender, moist, pullable roast. Here's some pic's of a couple I did right before I got rid of my Gator "LuLu".

Puff said:
Coat with a 50/50 mixture of honey&pure maple syrup, sprinkle with any kind of rub (I used Wolfe Rub), and smoke at 225 till it flakes off with a fork.

So, we're talking no brine ? Aprox how long did it take ?

john pen said:
Puff said:

So, we're talking no brine ? Aprox how long did it take ?
No brine, it was a small filet. It took aprox. 3 hrs. It was very moist, I don't eat fish, the wife said it was perfect :!:

Larry about how long did it to do those roasts and also is it possible to cook it less time and slice it? If you do it that way will it be too tuff to eat.

chris1237 said: