Brisket Traditionalist

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

los

Assistant Cook
Hey guys, for those of you who don't use foil on your briskets, what are you guys doing to keep it moist? Are you mopping or spraying it continually?

I've been foiling for a few months now and have had good success, but I would like to have it come out just as moist/tender without foil.

Any tips you traditionalist can share?

Thanks

los said:
Hey guys, for those of you who don't use foil on your briskets, what are you guys doing to keep it moist? Are you mopping or spraying it continually?

I've been foiling for a few months now and have had good success, but I would like to have it come out just as moist/tender without foil.

Any tips you traditionalist can share?

Thanks

My new cooker uses a rotisserie system of cooking. The meat racks rotate directly over the coals. I place a couple of briskets on different racks so that the drippings drop on the brisket below it. No foil or mopping required, the briskets are self basting.

I think one of the biggest factors in not having a dry brisket is to let it rest properly.
One hour rest at room temp under a loose foil tent seems
to make the juices hold up in the meat nicely. If your holding it foil
wrapped in a cooler for 2 or more hours just make sure it has cooled
off a bit before slicing. If its still steaming when you slice you can
actually watch the meat dry before your eyes.

I've never foiled a brisket while it was on the pit and only wrap if I need to hold it longer than 1 hour. I do baste or spray a few times during the cook
to keep the outside moist but I don't think that affects the inside much.
Never had much problem with dry brisket using the necked method, only
a few over the years, but every one is a little bit different and the odds are your going to run into one sometime.