Brining Basics is it a Brine or Marinade

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BrooklynQ

Cook
I'm no expert, but I'll add a little controversy here.

Until you add oil, it's a brine not a marinade. Marinades usually are a mix of acid and oil. Brines are primarily salt solutions.

And where do you find pickling salt? I’ve never seen it around NYC.

BrooklynQ said:
I'm no expert, but I'll add a little controversy here.

Until you add oil, it's a brine not a marinade. Marinades usually are a mix of acid and oil. Brines are primarily salt solutions.

And where do you find pickling salt? I’ve never seen it around NYC.

Robert, you should be able to find pickling salt in the grocery store. IMO, you can brine with whatever salt (except iodized) you want to. You will just need to adjust the amounts because all of the salts do not measure the same.

I too used this brine / marinade for our turkey this year. I used it one other time on a couple of chickens. I don't really care if it is a brine or a marinade. Both the chickens and the turkey came out fantastic and everybody loved them. Call it what you like, I'll use this again.

Blaze
As Smokehouse said once desolved pickling or Kosher work fine.
I not sure where sugar stops the process comes from, there are a number of sugar cures out there that would dispute your point.

What I got from your post was you don't like sweet brines and do like a lot of clove. Sounds like personel taste not science.
Jim

Blaze,

I have a couple of questions regarding your dissertation on brining:

1. What do you mean "Brine for safety"? Most folks are brining for one reason and that's for moist breast meat and a little added flavor.