Birsket?? I just started doing my pork butts fat side down,

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sluggo

Cook
now I am wondering should I do my brisket (whole, point & flat) fat side down? Any thoughts??

any rule of thumb on time? I think it is around 20lbs? but I can't remember I want to serve around 8 pm, would 10 hrs be enough? 12? (@225)
Any good ideas on injections? I've been watching Myron, but I don't think he is in my calling circle! (kidding)

img_211694_0_70aeec7d01ef1897e1c8d7850b1b5f04.jpg

I'm not that experienced but everything I've heard on briskets says fat side up. I've also heard it's one to one and a quarter hours per pound at temps between 220 and 250. Bigwheel seems to be the one to contact on this.

At 225 I don't think it matters much Re fat side up or down. JMO. At high heat, when I cook in the 325-350 range, I think fat down is best to protect the meat side from drying. I only cook brisket flats and use a WSM, but you are looking at many more than 10 hours at 225 for a large packer, many more. I'd estimate about 1 - 1.25 hours per pound, at least