Hot Springs Arkansas Newbie - BBQ Central

Go Back   BBQ Central > Corporate Administration > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Old 12-29-2016, 07:19 PM   #1
BBQ NOOB

Talking Hot Springs Arkansas Newbie

I am really new to the bar b q scene. I have recently acquired a used Master Forge propane smoker that had a damaged Handle which I managed to repair with a little amateur welding. Outside of the handle, it is an almost new unit.
As the only experience I have had with smoking is a wasted lifetime of tobacco use, (I am presently 2 years 2 months tobacco free), and other herbal substances from an earlier questionable youth, this is a new embarkation for me.
Therefore, when I ask that really dumb question that everyone else knows, please be patient with me.
a little more about me, I am a recently retired vocational instructor in Pharmacy
Technology, Certified Nursing assistant. I also spent 25 years as an LPN in different aspects of nursing, long term care, ICU, pediatrics. I did a time of Travel nursing where I was able to spend some time in different areas of the country and managed to try some different cuisines. I love food, especially smoked meats and veggies.
I am now going to start out with some whole chickens, spare ribs and a pork roast. I am actually a little apprehensive about doing it all at once, but typically, I like to go.....wait for it.....whole hog!!
tips?????????

dunnthat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 07:12 PM   #2
BBQ NOOB

Cook at 250, temp your chicken, test the pork by inserting the ease of the temp prob, and when ribs bend in a half moon they are done. Brisket was my hardest with some failures added to baked beans, and others overdone called pulled beef, but when you get it figured out what a reward!

Axlelift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 06:19 AM   #3
BBQ NOOB