Hi everybody. New here from new york. - BBQ Central

Go Back   BBQ Central > Corporate Administration > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Old 04-13-2012, 02:15 AM   #1
BBQ NOOB

Hi everybody. New here from new york.

Hiya. i'm new to the bbq forum. Been smoking about 3 years. Found my barrel smoker in the trash if you can believe it. All rusty and neglected, it needed someone to take it home and give it some love. Now, it gives us love. Rich people have good garbage! Everything that comes out of the cooker is outstanding. Porky shoulders, ribs, sausages, beef roasts,chicken, turkeys... Just picked up a 20 pound fresh ham because the price was right. $.99 a pound! Haven't done a ham yet, should be interesting. If any of ya'll have any tips offhand for a first time ham smoker, to brine or not to brine, cooking time for a 20 pounder, remove the skin or not, etc... they'd be much appreciated. Thanks and good to meet you! --amanda

Old 04-13-2012, 06:27 AM   #2

Re: Hi everybody. New here from new york.

Welcome to the jungle! Where abouts are you in NY?

Old 04-13-2012, 07:41 AM   #3

Welcome Bucknasty, can't offer help on the ham, but I'm betting Wittdog will weigh in soon, he is the man on hams ... and a number of other meats. Any pictures of the rescued barrel or any of those cooks.
KCBS Certified Judge #53267
bbquzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 11:21 AM   #4
Official BBQ Central Mark

Welcome aboard...it wont be long till us New Yorkers are the majority here...then we can swing the vote ! We love pics !
john pen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 11:34 AM   #5
Saint O'Que

Welcome to the camp.

I found my first smoker in the trash, too. Be very careful, this obsession (smoking meat) can be addictive.