Greetings from North Pole Alaska. - BBQ Central

Go Back   BBQ Central > Corporate Administration > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Old 02-03-2010, 05:26 PM   #1
BBQ NOOB

Greetings from North Pole Alaska.

Greetings all,
Just signed up. Im as green as lettuce. A total newbie to real BBQ cooking. I have grilled forever. And, I know that the 2 are totally different
I live on the edge of the frontier, outside North Pole in Alaska. Among other things, I am a home brewer, that is to say, I brew my own beer. Not no canned pre mixed stuff either. I have a mill and at present 300 pounds of grain. I mash, ferment, and bottle or keg. Ive actually got a couple bronze medals from a national sanctioned competition.
I have been looking for the natural extension, or next step, in my evolution. Creating my own BBQ to go with my specific beers, just seemed to be the natural progression. Then I saw BBQ Pitmasters on the TV, and thought, "wow, looks just like me when Im brewing beer, ceptin they are brewin BBQ".
And so, along with gun fever, gold fever, homebrew fever, remote camping fever, I have now just added a new hobby to be obsessed with, BBQ fever.
I started out just like this for my brewing. I went out and found the best online show/podcast I could, found the best forum, and started to absorb.
I found Gregs Radio show on Itunes. Totally superior to anything else out there. Nothing close in my opinion. That of course led me here.