Deep Fried Turkey How To

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BayouChilehead

Senior Cook
I would like to mention that I am not a pro at this but this is the way I learned how to deep fry a turkey and it has worked for years. If there is anything I missed I welcome any suggestions and/or criticism.

First get the neck, gizzard and liver pack out of the turkey.

Then take out any plastic:

Put turkey in pot and fill with water to top of turkey:

Pull turkey out and notice where the water level is, this is where you will fill the oil to:

Dry the pot thoroughly.

Now dry the turkey and tuck the wings back:

And tie the legs:

This is a good investment:

It will regulate the flame on the burner to the temperature you set:

This is the turkey right after setting it in:

Resting for 10-15 minutes:

Half of the turkey cut up and ready to serve:

I used this injector recipe in the turkey:

Beer n' Butter Poultry Injection
Ingredients:
• 1/2 pound butter
• 1/2 can beer
• 2 tablespoons salt
• 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
• 2 tablespoons Tabasco
• 1 tablespoon soy sauce
• 2 teaspoons garlic powder
• 2 teaspoons onion powder
Preparation:
Combine all ingredients in a sauce pan over a low heat. Stir and heat until salt is dissolved and the sauce is even and runny. Keep warm (but not hot) to inject.

excellent how to....what's the details on that gadget thingy?

I would only add to go to great lengths to dry the pot after
the water level test,
and again with the turkey.

Captain Morgan said:
excellent how to....what's the details on that gadget thingy?

You can purchase them here:
http://www.bayouclassicdepot.com/cb001_ ... _valve.htm