Struggling with chicken bbq.. Newbie here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chemmutk

Assistant Cook
Hi thr, I have an 18" bbq kettle and charcoal briquettes . I'm planning to make tandoori chicken( 2 whole chicken cut into 8 big pieces) . So I read that chicken should be cooked in indirect heat method ( two zone). But I Have doubts ...I will list them down
1) how many briquettes should I use ?
2) how long should I cook the each side ? Does it has to be cooked both sides ?
if so, when shud I flip , I mean after how many minutes ?
3) should I cook it with lid on ?
4) what should be the grill temperature to be maintained ? I don't have a grill gauge , but I wud like to know.
Kindly note that I don't have a meat thermometer either.

When I grill anything:

1. I use the lid

2. I save charcoal by snuffing it after a cook, when I start again, I add a layer. In other words, I have no idea of the amount of charcoal.

3. I cook for about 10 to 12 minutes, inspect, flip, then repeat until I remove the food when I am satisfied that it is done.

I also do not have a thermometer in my 18" kettle. My guess is that I tend to cook at between 300 and 350 degrees F.

Dennis has it right, I do like to use a thermometer like a Thermapen or other instant read thermometer to check the temp of the chicken, it should be 165°. You didn't say if you have an 18" Weber or other, but I'm with Dennis put a good layer of charcoal on the left side and use the right as your indirect or visa versa and when you are done close all the vents and the charcoal should extinguish its self and you can add some fresh to the old and use it next time. Defiantly use a closed lid when cooking.