Korean Short Ribs and Kimchi

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tri Tip

Head Chef
I work in sales for FedEx and one part of my territory is Westminster CA. It’s also known as Little Saigon. It’s heavily populated with Vietnamese culture. There are many Asian markets with so many cool foods to choose from. I frequently pick up Korean Spare/Short Ribs. They’re a cross section of beef ribs. I have made my own marinade in the past but you can buy it much cheaper. Korean BBQ sauce is basically a very very sweet and sticky Teriyaki like sauce with sesame seeds. You only have to marinate for about an hour and baste a lot while cooking. The meat is 5 times sweeter than most bbq. It’s like beef candy. Although I know how to make Kimchi, again it’s much easier to pick some up. It’s basically pickled cabbage with ground peppers anchovies sauce and tons of garlic. It tastes great if you can get past the smell.

Not yet in the marinade

Heaten up the Mesquite.

Got Rice?

Way cool Mike. Are my eyes deceiving me or are those asparagus the size of large carrots? On another matter, are you still happy with your drum grill? I'm planning on visiting your grill guy this week end and picking up one for myself.

I still love the Performer and the SMW but need something with a bit more grilling surface for larger gatherings.

I love Korean short ribs, they make good grub when I am out camping. I love kimchi too - kimchi jjigae is the best :)

Now I am hungry...

Smokey Lew said:
Way cool Mike. Are my eyes deceiving me or are those asparagus the size of large carrots? On another matter, are you still happy with your drum grill? I'm planning on visiting your grill guy this week end and picking up one for myself.

I still love the Performer and the SMW but need something with a bit more grilling surface for larger gatherings.