Super Bowl's Over..how was your cook - Page 2 - BBQ Central

Go Back   BBQ Central > Corporate Administration > General (Non-BBQ) Discussion
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2005, 03:46 PM   #11
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Finney's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Savannah, GA and Somewhere near Lexington, NC
Posts: 8,563
Those Guru guys must have used the old design adage: If you can't fix it, feature it.
__________________

__________________
Chris

"Of all the imaginary friends I've had, I don't think there was one that I didn't end up having to kill."

in seach of Umami
Finney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 03:56 PM   #12
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Chris, I think you're refering to the 14 Hour Brisket chart shown on this page. The temp is suppose to go to the temp you set, whether in ramp mode or not ~ There should not be a 30° overshoot in either mode. I'm assuming that you're placing the pit therm in the same place in both modes? Anyway, the Guru should take the pit to the temp you have set (Using Ramp Mode) and hold it there until the meat gets to 25° below the meat set point on the Guru. As the meat temp rises from there, the pit temp should drop and the temps should hold at about 15° apart. BTW, this feature is now called the "Cook & Hold" feature because "Ramp Mode" caused so many questions.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 04:28 PM   #13
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Finney's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Savannah, GA and Somewhere near Lexington, NC
Posts: 8,563
Well Bill,

It certainly says at the top of that page you 'linked' that it DOES NOT ramp temp up. Only down.

But then what are they doing to get their charted temps? Starting out with the unit set higher and then changing the set temp?

I'm getting this without doing anything!

Didn't someone on TVWB say that they had talked to Fred and that there was a 30* tolerance range on the pit probe, and the meat probe was very accurite?

I may need to call Fred and get to the bottom of this. Or just quite looking at the thing and trust it.



Pit probe was clamped to the meat probe at the bend. Saw that in one of their pictures.
__________________
Chris

"Of all the imaginary friends I've had, I don't think there was one that I didn't end up having to kill."

in seach of Umami
Finney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 04:35 PM   #14
BBQ Central College


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raynham, MA
Posts: 483
I had the same temp issues. So as usual I called Fred & Bob. Their answer was that the temp should be set to what you want the pit temp to be. In other words if you want to cook at say 235° that's where you set the temp. Regardless of whether it's set for ramp mode or not. The graph in the literature shows how the temp profile would look if one were to set the pit temp to 275°- 300° and then the guru would lower the pit temp when the meat temp was 25° lower than the meat temp set point.

Well,the only way I could get the Guru to work properly was to tape all the bottom vents and use the aluminum tape to provide a better seal between the middle and bottom sections. AIR LEAKS ARE THE ENEMY OF THE GURU
I also set the pit temp to 200° and then make some minor adjustments based on my ET-73 readings. It takes about an hour for the pit temps to stabilize before I can make adjustments.

That's my story for today kids !!!!

Uncle Al
__________________
www.wickedgoodbbq.com

The early bird might get the worm...but it's the second mouse that gets the cheese.
Uncle Al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 05:05 PM   #15
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Finney's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Savannah, GA and Somewhere near Lexington, NC
Posts: 8,563
Well, next cook I am going to move the pit probe over to the cooking grate beside the meat. I don't know if this will help any or not.

My bottom vents seem pretty tight, but maybe they're not. I had aluminum foil 'gaskets' on the door and between the top and the middle section.

But Damn, shouldn't the Guru just shut off it the pit temp gets too hot? It was motoring on for all it was worth. Full speed ahead.

I will get out the pot of boiling water tonight and check the temp on the Guru.

Then I don't know 'what' next.
__________________
Chris

"Of all the imaginary friends I've had, I don't think there was one that I didn't end up having to kill."

in seach of Umami
Finney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 06:38 PM   #16
BBQ Central College


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raynham, MA
Posts: 483
Chris,

I'm the guy from the WSM forum. I didn't mean to post redundant info but I started my reply and then my boss had the audacity to walk into my office and talk shop. So, my answer was a little late.

Anyway, as Bill noted, the main feature of the Guru aside from controlling the pit temp is the Cook and Hold mode. You are supposed to be able to shorten the cook time by setting your pit temp higher than normal and then the Guru will Ramp down the pit temp and hold the meat at its setpoint till the cooker runs out of fuel. Also, holding the meat temp accurately required a more accurate probe and as long as the pit temp is somewhere in the slow cook temp range there should be no problems.

Keep in mind that these Guru guys are always at comps and such and cook with the Guru constantly. They know their stuff and love to talk. Give em a call.

Uncle Al
__________________
www.wickedgoodbbq.com

The early bird might get the worm...but it's the second mouse that gets the cheese.
Uncle Al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2005, 07:47 PM   #17
BBQ Centralite
 
Woodman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mentor, Oh
Posts: 4,457
I feel so left out and alone..........................
__________________
"I was born to cook for people"
Woodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 06:29 AM   #18
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Finney's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Savannah, GA and Somewhere near Lexington, NC
Posts: 8,563
That's so sad WoodRecluse.

Anyway... Thanks Al, Bill, and Nick for you responces to my Guru issuses.
I read through all the info I have printed from the BBQ Guru website last night when I got home. As Al stated in the post above, the Guru guys say AIR LEAKS ARE THE ENEMY OF THE GURU . So I will work on that issue.

I still don't truely understand why if I can easily control my temps in the WSM without the Guru and keep things where I want them... and when I close all the vents the fire dies out within the time frame the Guru guys say is good... that air leaks would be the issue. And why doesn't the Guru stop running when the temp is over the set point? Why... why... why?
__________________
Chris

"Of all the imaginary friends I've had, I don't think there was one that I didn't end up having to kill."

in seach of Umami
Finney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 06:59 AM   #19
Web Celeb
 
Greg Rempe's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 8,177
Don' feel bad Woddie...I don't have one of thoes Guru thingys!!
__________________
Host of The BBQ Central Radio Show
www.thebbqcentralshow.com
Greg Rempe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 08:01 AM   #20
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I had to tape all of the lower vents too in order for the Guru gto have good control over the fire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Finney
And why doesn't the Guru stop running when the temp is over the set point? Why... why... why?
One of the quirks from clipping the pit therm to the meat therm is that while the meat is still cold, that cold radiates through the meat therm and will affect the pit therm to a degree (not to 30° though). The closer you place the pit therm to the meat, the more overshoot you will get. I have been placing the pit therm at the end of the meat therm next to the cable so I can rotate the meat therm thus placing the pit therm further away from the cold meat ~ this has worked well for me. I use to place the pit therm next to the meat on the top grate but it was hard to get a good placement between the 2 cold butts and the heat wall coming up the sides of the WSM.

As Al suggested, call Bob or Fred and get their views...Maybe they have some new ideas. And while you're at it, ask them about the temp difference between when we calibrate the therms and when they're in the WSM. This has been asked before but I haven't heard a "good" answer yet!
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.