Okay, I want my house back. - BBQ Central

Go Back   BBQ Central > Corporate Administration > General (Non-BBQ) Discussion
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2006, 01:21 PM   #1
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Bill The Grill Guy's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5,449
Okay, I want my house back.

I orderd the materials for a 10x20 shed today. Ran out of room in my garage, dinning room and kitchen due to the catering stuff, competition stuff and stuff stuff. Should keep me busy for a week or so. I'll post pics as we go.
__________________

__________________
Bill The Grill Guy
www.billthegrillguy.com
"Life, it's what you do between meals."

http://img76.imageshack.us/img76/3674/platezi0.png
Bill The Grill Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2006, 01:37 PM   #2
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Larry Wolfe's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bealeton, Virginia
Posts: 14,969
Bill so what you're saying is, Kathy threw you out! 8-[ We're family here, you can tell us.
__________________

__________________
Larry Wolfe
Visit the Wolfe Pit
Wolfe Rub Recipes
Larry Wolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2006, 02:52 PM   #3
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Bill The Grill Guy's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Wolfe
Bill so what you're saying is, Kathy threw you out! 8-[ We're family here, you can tell us.
__________________
Bill The Grill Guy
www.billthegrillguy.com
"Life, it's what you do between meals."

http://img76.imageshack.us/img76/3674/platezi0.png
Bill The Grill Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 08:13 AM   #4
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Bill The Grill Guy's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5,449
The site is ready, just waiting on the lumber.

__________________
Bill The Grill Guy
www.billthegrillguy.com
"Life, it's what you do between meals."

http://img76.imageshack.us/img76/3674/platezi0.png
Bill The Grill Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 08:22 AM   #5
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Larry Wolfe's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bealeton, Virginia
Posts: 14,969
Bill if I recall correctly that's right next to the rail road tracks right? You think the rumbling will shake the building loose? Might wanna strap that puppy down!
__________________
Larry Wolfe
Visit the Wolfe Pit
Wolfe Rub Recipes
Larry Wolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 08:49 AM   #6
Moderator
 
Nick Prochilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 16,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Wolfe
Bill if I recall correctly that's right next to the rail road tracks right? You think the rumbling will shake the building loose? Might wanna strap that puppy down!
Man if your building to the codes we have around here, you have no choice but to strap it down!
__________________
I hope this isn't negative!
Nick Prochilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 08:59 AM   #7
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Larry Wolfe's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bealeton, Virginia
Posts: 14,969
[quote=Nick Prochilo]
Quote:
Originally Posted by "Larry Wolfe":1zygb9kf
Bill if I recall correctly that's right next to the rail road tracks right? You think the rumbling will shake the building loose? Might wanna strap that puppy down!
Man if your building to the codes we have around here, you have no choice but to strap it down![/quote:1zygb9kf]

Same here Nick, anything over 150 sq ft has got to be strapped down, at least in Fauquier Co., Bill. You also need a building permit for anything 150 sq ft or over. I'm sure it's different in BFE where Bill lives.
__________________
Larry Wolfe
Visit the Wolfe Pit
Wolfe Rub Recipes
Larry Wolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 09:08 AM   #8
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Bill The Grill Guy's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5,449
No building permit needed for sheds that can be moved. Its kind of like one of those pre built sheds only I am doing the building. IF THEY EVER DELIVER MY LUMBER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah Larry, it is right on the railroad property line.
__________________
Bill The Grill Guy
www.billthegrillguy.com
"Life, it's what you do between meals."

http://img76.imageshack.us/img76/3674/platezi0.png
Bill The Grill Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 09:10 AM   #9
Moderator
 
Nick Prochilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 16,367
[quote=Larry Wolfe][quote="Nick Prochilo":3mqyn3qy]
Quote:
Originally Posted by "Larry Wolfe":3mqyn3qy
Bill if I recall correctly that's right next to the rail road tracks right? You think the rumbling will shake the building loose? Might wanna strap that puppy down!
Man if your building to the codes we have around here, you have no choice but to strap it down![/quote:3mqyn3qy]

Same here Nick, anything over 150 sq ft has got to be strapped down, at least in Fauquier Co., Bill. You also need a building permit for anything 150 sq ft or over. I'm sure it's different in BFE where Bill lives.[/quote:3mqyn3qy]

I kid you not, we need building permits for doghouses here. Anything that they can tax you on, they will!
__________________
I hope this isn't negative!
Nick Prochilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 09:16 AM   #10
Wizard of Que
 
DATsBBQ's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Galveston TX
Posts: 1,763
No building permit is required here for these: http://www.ncre.biz/StorageShed/storageshed.html
DATsBBQ
DATsBBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 09:20 AM   #11
Moderator
 
Nick Prochilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, N.Y.
Posts: 16,367
Quote:
Originally Posted by DATsBBQ
No building permit is required here for these: http://www.ncre.biz/StorageShed/storageshed.html
DATsBBQ
Why would it be insulated if your not heating it? If you put that up around here, you would need a permit.
__________________
I hope this isn't negative!
Nick Prochilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 09:30 AM   #12
Wizard of Que
 
DATsBBQ's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Galveston TX
Posts: 1,763
The county here requires permits for anything over 120 square feet when measured from the inside.

The floor is insulated should someone have to break the law and sleep in it due to say.... a Rocky Mountain Blizzard (during deer hunting season).

Three candles will keep it above 50 degrees.. . Anyway, haven't sold one yet... The logs were leftovers from a house that got built.

The "model" shed is about 1/2 mile from where Festus roasted the pigs.
DATsBBQ
DATsBBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 09:55 AM   #13
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Larry Wolfe's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bealeton, Virginia
Posts: 14,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill The Grill Guy
No building permit needed for sheds that can be moved. Its kind of like one of those pre built sheds only I am doing the building. IF THEY EVER DELIVER MY LUMBER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah Larry, it is right on the railroad property line.
Lucky for you Bill. I had my shed built and it can still be moved, but I still needed to get county approval! Bastards!
__________________
Larry Wolfe
Visit the Wolfe Pit
Wolfe Rub Recipes
Larry Wolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 03:54 PM   #14
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Bill The Grill Guy's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5,449
Progress is on its way.


This morning:



This afternoon:

__________________
Bill The Grill Guy
www.billthegrillguy.com
"Life, it's what you do between meals."

http://img76.imageshack.us/img76/3674/platezi0.png
Bill The Grill Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 04:22 PM   #15
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Bruce B's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Utica, MI
Posts: 6,758
Am I missing something...don't you usually pour a slab and then build the storage shed on the slab. Granted I never professed to be a construction guy, but just wondering.
__________________
Bruce
Treasurer, Great Lakes BBQAssociation
www.glbbqa.com
Rubbed, Smoked, and Sauced Competition BBQ Team-
22 1/2" WSM, 2 18 1/2" WSM's, 22 1/2" Weber Kettle
Bruce B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 04:25 PM   #16
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
In Florida, every shed I saw was on a slab (termites) but in these here parts, I've not seen one on a slab ~ They're all raised 6 to 12" but have a wood floor.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 05:19 PM   #17
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Larry Wolfe's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bealeton, Virginia
Posts: 14,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce B
Am I missing something...don't you usually pour a slab and then build the storage shed on the slab. Granted I never professed to be a construction guy, but just wondering.
Bruce I thought the same thing as well. But when the guys built my shed they did it exactly the same way Bill's doing his.
__________________
Larry Wolfe
Visit the Wolfe Pit
Wolfe Rub Recipes
Larry Wolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 06:50 PM   #18
Saint O'Que
 
Helen_Paradise's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Joker
In Florida, every shed I saw was on a slab (termites) but in these here parts, I've not seen one on a slab ~ They're all raised 6 to 12" but have a wood floor.
*thumbs up* Slab good...it's how we do in CA =D>
__________________
30 Helens agree...to disagree.
Helen_Paradise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 07:53 PM   #19
Master of All
 
ScottyDaQ's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: In ur house, eatin ur foodz.
Posts: 7,490
One Pro for Slab = no varmints making underneath your shed ... a home.
__________________
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker ?
Weber 22.5 One Touch Gold ?
Weber Smokey Joe Gold ?

Weber Grill Decency Agent # KTL9352
ScottyDaQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2006, 10:12 AM   #20
Wizard of Que
 
DATsBBQ's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Galveston TX
Posts: 1,763
Pier foundations at one time were the standard. While many Lenders frown on homes built on pier foundations, sheds are a differenct animal. If you are concerned about varmits go ahead "skirt" the shed. If insects along with critters are the a concern, gather up a bunch of rocks and fill in between the pillars. Alot of the old houses around here have that thing going on.

The real old house didn't even have pillars. They would take two flat rocks, placing one on top of the other then hang the joists off of them. Water doesn't wick from rock to rock and as long as there wasn't a flood, you didn't have to worry about water damage.

DATsBBQ
__________________

DATsBBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off







Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×