Maverick Issue - BBQ Central

Go Back   BBQ Central > Corporate Administration > General (Non-BBQ) Discussion
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2007, 05:40 AM   #1
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
surfinsapo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,044
Maverick Issue

Hello, I have a Maverick Thermometer and it has 2 outputs. One for the smoker temp and the other for the meat temp. The smoker temp always reads 195 degrees nomatter what I do.. Has anyone else seen this? I can still use it to check the meat temp but it's dual use is useless... .. Is it fried or can I fix it? I guess I better look at the box if I still have it for a warranty...It was only 49 something bucks, but still... Any input will help folks... Thank you in advance,,,,
__________________

surfinsapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 06:52 AM   #2
Saint O'Que
 
Larry D.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clemmons, NC
Posts: 1,294
Can you swap the two probes? If you do, does the 195 reading follow the probe (suggesting a damaged probe) or does it read 195 for the smoker temp, no matter which probe is plugged in (suggesting an internal problem with the circuitry)? If the probe is bad, you should be able to get a new one. I need to order one for my Maverick ET72, which nows reads HHH most of the time (occasionally it will read 392, which is just as bad).

Here's a link to their probe order form: http://www.maverickhousewares.com/probe_parts.pdf
__________________

__________________
----------------------------------------------------------------------
"If we took the bones out, it wouldn't be crunchy, would it?"
Larry D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 07:14 AM   #3
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
surfinsapo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry D.
Can you swap the two probes? If you do, does the 195 reading follow the probe (suggesting a damaged probe) or does it read 195 for the smoker temp, no matter which probe is plugged in (suggesting an internal problem with the circuitry)? If the probe is bad, you should be able to get a new one. I need to order one for my Maverick ET72, which nows reads HHH most of the time (occasionally it will read 392, which is just as bad).

Here's a link to their probe order form: http://www.maverickhousewares.com/probe_parts.pdf
It stays at 195 even if I swap the probes... Is there a default setting I can go back to? I always store it with the batteries out to prevent corosion.. Oh Well...
surfinsapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 07:21 AM   #4
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
Larry Wolfe's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bealeton, Virginia
Posts: 14,969
Sapo, check your PM.
__________________
Larry Wolfe
Visit the Wolfe Pit
Wolfe Rub Recipes
Larry Wolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 07:29 AM   #5
Official BBQ Central Mark
 
surfinsapo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Wolfe
Sapo, check your PM.
I did and Thanks... I sent it right now.. You Da Man!!!
surfinsapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.