Any Dig Cam experts here ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

john pen

Master Chef
Came home this weekend to find my camera had a busted viewing screen (I haven't investigated it with the four kids that were home alone all weekend, but Im sure it'll get blamed on the dog)...Anyway...I was in the market for a new camera anyway. The old one was a $49.00 from Sams club that served us well for over 2 years, so I really cant bitch.

My questions are how much should I plan on spending for a decent one, any suggestions on style or manufacturer and what are you guys using and what do you like or dislike about it ? Ill be doing the web educator later this week, but Id rather hear first hand !

John I'm no expert, but I'm on my 3rd Canon Digital Elph and couldn't be happier. You can get a real good one for less than $400.

Larry Wolfe said:
John I'm no expert, but I'm on my 3rd Canon Digital Elph and couldn't be happier. You can get a real good one for less than $400.

On your 3rd ?? Upgrades I hope ?

john pen said:
[quote="Larry Wolfe":skp0m4xl]John I'm no expert, but I'm on my 3rd Canon Digital Elph and couldn't be happier. You can get a real good one for less than $400.

On your 3rd ?? Upgrades I hope ?[/quote:skp0m4xl]

Operator errors!! Actually the first one I dropped while the zoom lens was out and hosed that. The second one I decided to give to my daughter and replaced it with the one I have now. Here's the one I have.

I have a Nikon CoolPix 7600 7.1 MP...I paid 300 bucks for the camera, case, and card after abusing my Staples awards and coupons. My only complaint: the charging of, I think, the flash if there is low light around. It takes forever. I ended up getting another 1gig card for the camera and rechargeable batteries. Great all around camera though for my first digital. But..some didn't agree. Click link.