New to site so I have a smoker mod question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bishop952000

Assistant Cook
Good morning and Merry Christmas All
A little about my smoker. I have a Masterbuilt 7in1 smoker which I received as a gift awhile back. I've done ribs that have come out fine and pork loin which has come out fine but controlling the temp was a chore to say the least. I've used the propane feature for both and TRIED charcoal. I stress tried because I cannot seem to control the temp at all due to one air vent at the lid and a big hole at the bottom (allows the flame from the propane to be used). I am wanting to try a DigiQ DXII and realize I will need to drill a hole to fit the fan adaptor and will need to seal up the big hole at the bottom. In Monday I sent The BBQ Guru (DigiQ guys) an email asking a question but have yet to hear back from them, so I'll ask you all. Following is the email I sent.
So I'm thinking about purchasing one of your packages and and wondering if you could steer me in the right direction regarding your models. I have (for now) a Masterbuilt 7 in 1 smoker/grill and am wondering which product will work. This smoker has NO air vent on the bottom (only one is on the lid), and a very small door to add any chips/charcoal. So far I've smoked ribs and pork tenderloin multiple times and they've all turned out very good, but I had to check my temps very often. My last tenderloin I had to finish on my grill because I was fighting temps ALL day and just didn't have the patients any longer (total time JUST in the smoker...4.5 hours).