Direct TV on the Queen - BBQ Central

Go Back   BBQ Central > General > BBQ Pit Mods
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2005, 06:30 AM   #1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
When I had DirecTV, I hooked the phone line up to get it started up and disconnected it for the next 4 years we had service. Never had a problem. The account information follows the card you have pluged into the receiver unit, but I think the receivers S/N had to be input through DirecTV before the card and receiver would work together...Can't remember back that far...
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 08:11 AM   #2
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
ROCK ON!!!

BTW, if you ever watch NASCAR, notice when they show the pits, all the teams have DirecTV dishes up..
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 11:50 AM   #3
BBQ Central Pro


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 791
Quote:
whatever the satellite internet thru DirectTV
for that you will need a phone line or some other internet connection

the satellite dish you have can only recieve info ... it does not have an uplink ... so you can't send requests ... only receive data
Shawn White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 02:44 PM   #4
BBQ Central Pro


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by FATZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn White
Quote:
whatever the satellite internet thru DirectTV
for that you will need a phone line or some other internet connection

the satellite dish you have can only recieve info ... it does not have an uplink ... so you can't send requests ... only receive data
Oh, so just hooking up a phone line won't help. Ahite, den.

Still got TV.
Yeah hooking up a phone line is what you would need to do.

You need a phone line and modem (a dial up connection, or your cell phone and an adapter) this is internet connection #1 on your computer. Your satellite ISP gives you a number to call and connection specific settings to use. When you surf your internet requests go to their proxy server. It gets the response then sends it to the satellite through their uplink and it comes back to your dish to your computer's second internet conection, a network card.

At least that's how the satellite internet works in Canada .... maybe you guys got a better system.
Shawn White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 09:14 PM   #5
BBQ Central Pro


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 791
FATZ, I'm trying to help buddy

To get broadband in your van either get a mobile satellite uplink and receiver, or drive your van to an established wireless hotspot or get a VERY long network cable and hook it up to your broadband connection at home, spooling it out as you drive <kiddin on this one, there is a maximum network cable length before amplifiers/repeaters are required>
Shawn White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2005, 10:11 PM   #6
BBQ Central Pro


 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by FATZ
mobile satellite uplink and receiver

OK. This sounds like the way to go.

What do I look for? How much? who sells them? EBAY? haha
you finally got me man, I have no idea FATZ =D>
Shawn White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 06:36 AM   #7
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Kevin K might be able to help on that one..He browses the internet all the time while he's driving a truck! He uses a cell connection of some sort so I don't think it's broadband though...
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.